Former 2NR radio station, Lawrence, NSW (now a museum)

20121115-144913.jpg

The roads around the Northern Rivers region of NSW are an amazing place to spend a few days getting lost in. Today saw me meandering along the banks of the Clarence on my way to Yamba when I spied this building just outside of Lawrence.

Perched high on top of a small hill it was easy to assume that it was something special. The sign pointing me towards an ‘historical site’, in a north-eastern direction, confirmed my suspicions.

It happened to be the former 2NR radio station and was all too proud to let it be known on it’s stark white facade. It had been converted for quite some years already into the local museum and boasted excellent displays of local and broadcasting memorabilia. At least that’s what the sign outside told me. The museum had closed and was gated up.

I was too late to see inside but stood and admired the old girl’s humble grandeur for a few minutes longer before hitting the road again.

 

Leave a comment